The Scheme sets a high benchmark and some applicants may need several months to reach the WHS standards required for accreditation. Companies seeking accreditation for the first time will be granted an initial accreditation period of 3 years. Following this initial period, companies seeking re-accreditation, may be granted an accreditation period of up to 6 years.

Achieving accreditation is a two-stage assessment process comprising a review of your application, including a gap-analysis and on-site audit.

Applicants must satisfy the following criteria to obtain accreditation:

  1. Demonstrated ability to manage construction hazards and high risk activities.
  2. Record in relation to workplace safety.
  3. On-site audit results.
  4. Performance against the following focus points:

    i) demonstrated senior management commitment to WHS;
    ii) integration of safe design principles into the risk management process;
    iii) whole of project WHS consultation and communication;
    iv) demonstrated effective subcontractor WHS management arrangements across building and construction projects;
    v) whole of project performance measurement; and
    vi) WHS training and competency to deal with safety risks.

On-site audit(s):

On successful completion of the application process including gap analysis, an on-site audit is arranged. The Federal Safety Officer conducting the audit may request documentary evidence in accordance with the criteria to verify the implementation of WHS procedures and practices on site. Further guidance on what constitutes documentary evidence is available in our audit criteria evidence guide and Safe Work Method Statements (SWMS) fact sheet.

The Federal Safety Commissioner will make the final decision on accreditation taking into account the findings of the on-site audit.

Apply for accreditation