The WHS Accreditation Scheme is designed to improve health and safety in the building and construction industry.

To be accredited by the Federal Safety Commissioner (FSC), builders must have rigorous safety management systems in place and demonstrate that they are being implemented and followed on-site. This means that accredited builders have higher safety management standards and systems and undergo more rigorous auditing than they would otherwise. It also means that the FSC has certified the builder's safety management system as meeting the requirements of the Scheme and as such, they can tender for Australian Government projects.

While the Scheme prescribes a range of criteria that accredited builders must meet, compliance with these requirements can be achieved through different approaches and processes.

Key criteria for accreditation

Applicants must satisfy the following criteria to obtain accreditation:

  1. Demonstrated ability to manage construction hazards and high-risk activities.
  2. Positive record in relation to workplace safety.
  3. Achieve consistently good on-site audit results with a particular focus on the following:

    i) demonstrated senior management commitment to WHS;

    ii) integration of safe design principles into the risk management process;

    iii) whole of project WHS consultation and communication;

    iv) demonstrated effective subcontractor WHS management arrangements across building and construction projects;

    v) whole of project performance measurement; and

    vi) WHS training and competency to deal with safety risks.